Your cart


< albums list

Childish Music . Various Artists


staubgold 60
2005. cd . dl

Naive sounds from Germany, Scotland, France, Japan, Australia and the United States make up for a superstar collection of new music for new children featuring contributions by Dr. Rockit, Devendra Banhart, Nobukazu Takemura, Sketch Show, Lawrence, Maher Shalal Hash Baz, F.S. Blumm, Anne Laplantine, World Standard and many more. The cd comes with a luxurious 32-pages full-colour booklet including extensive linernotes. Compiled by Ekkehard Ehlers.

"Children like to be silly. Secretly, adults like to be silly too. Here's a space to be silly, with the children." (David Toop)

“Imagine allowing kids aged 3-6 do whatever they please inside a room of synthesizers, drum machines, Theremins, and uncovered turntables (loaded with their parents' records), and then recording the results. Maybe a rhythm could arise for a few seconds with a couple of thwacks here and there, and then there could be the violent, keyboard zigzags produced by fingers stuck in curious mouths. Perhaps, a renaissance in "chance music" could be realized.” (Cameron Macdonald, Pitchfork Media)

track listing:

01. Mika Bubble Sing (Fan Club Orchestra)

02. Good Morning (Maher Shalal Hash Baz)

03. Lucky Bugs Win Prizes (Hassle Hound)

04. Falling Down A Dam Of Mashed Potatoes (Lawrence)

05. Lullabye For William (Dr. Rockit)

06. Country Musicfellow (Yuichiro Fujimoto)

07. Let´s Pretend (La Grande Illusion)

08. Tic Tac (World Standard)

09. Humidity Of Mountains (Arrow Tour)

10. Mn2 (RdL)

11. Sweet Raphael (Edit) (Guido Möbius)

12. Fa (F.S. Blumm Meets Anne Laplantine)

13. Alles Glühen (Kammerflimmer Kollektief)

14. Make It Easier (Devendra Banhart)

15. Creepy Crawl (Oren Ambarchi)

16. Kobana (Asa-Chang & Junray)

17. Ritterball (Harald "Sack" Ziegler)

18. Vibrante (Nobukazu Takemura)

19. Wooden Toy Trumpet (Lullatone)

20. December (Anne Laplantine)

21. Kula Botanical Garden (Asao Kikuchi)

22. Meets Cybermohalla (Bernadette La Hengst)

23. Fly Me To The River (März-Remix) (Sketch Show)

24. Noaro (Kazumasa Hashimoto)

25. Come March (Takagi Masakatsu)